No incentive to talk

As the Roberts hearings proceed, a very obvious question comes to mind. Me being a master of the obvious, and a bit light on Supreme Court history, I’ll ask it.

Is there any incentive at all for prospective justices to talk about their beliefs? John Roberts is sailing towards confirmation while refusing to answer most of the hot questions. That in mind, why would he, or anyone else for that matter, reveal anything? This process as it stands seems almost pointless to me.

2 Responses to No incentive to talk

  1. Sue says:

    Well, here’s the comment from your paralegal friend. Yes, it is very important for Roberts to discuss his beliefs. He is going to have an impact on our court system for DECADES. I want to know if he’s going to mess with Roe v. Wade and I want to see what kind of person he is. Granted, I had no interest in the Thomas Circus, but I was much younger then!!! Also, I couldn’t name more than 2 other justices, anyway, but it is important to find out how the Chief Justice might react to things.

  2. Larry, Larry, Larry. Didn’t you get the memo. The skill we are most looking for from anyone aspiring to high office is the ability to say absolutely nothing while moving their lips. Opinions? Beliefs? They are so messy. Who needs them.

