On Stage

Today was our first day on the Christmas Story set with everybody. It was a bit labored today. We were trying to remember where we were supposed to go, and after we remembered (if we remembered) to translate those movements from the rehearsal hall to the stage.

And then, remember the lines.

We are now at that point that if we don’t know our stuff, we lose ground. This show needs to move smoothly as possible as soon as possible. Today, I didn’t entirely feel like I was contributing to that. My energy seemed down, and I just didn’t feel in command.

There is time tomorrow to work at it, though, and that is keeping me sane! It’s very intimidating when you have lots of prep work to do, and no time to do it. I am extraordinarily grateful for this point in life where all I have to do is this show. I’m pretty sure at some point, I will be in 2nd-job-land again, so I really want to enjoy this luxury!

It is a very interesting night outside. Gusty winds, billowy clouds and a high-beam moon. It seems beautifully unreal.

6 Responses to On Stage

  1. Anonymous says:

    Who are you? Are you on inside the actor’s studio? It’s a play! You’re acting? It ain’t brain surgery! Actor’s that think this much about what they’re doing have forgotten what it’s like to have a job! Stop it. Have fun, that’s what it’s supposed to be. Lighten up, Francis!

  2. js says:

    Thanks, Francis, for sharing your insights on the virtues of shutting off your brain. From your comment I can see you speak from great experience.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Who’s Francis? Know your movie quotes js. So good being admonished by someone with your obvious brain power.

  4. js says:

    Forgive me, Larry. I can’t resist. I promise, just one.

    Dear Comic Book Guy,

    Yes, my powers of memory fail when attempting to recall a line from a movie I haven’t seen in twenty years. In this you are surely my superior, and I’m certain you’ve invested thousands of worthwhile hours becoming so. I simply assumed that the same guy who confused Actor’s, the singular possessive, with Actors, the plural, might have botched his closing. My mistake.

    But leaving grammar aside, I get the impression that you’ve never actually taken the stage professionally before. It’s a tough job to do well. Those who make it look easy are like NFL wide receivers who make circus catches look routine. That ease is the combination of raw talent and decades of practice. For actors, this practice must often be done in a low-pay, no-health-insurance, sell-blood-to-pay-the-rent ambiance–all to follow a profession where all the skill and practice in the world may not mean anything if the actor is an inch too short.

    Now there are nights when actors are off, either during rehearsals or during a performance. Self-doubt creeps in. They feel like they’ve let people down who are counting on them. (I realize that these emotions may be foreign to you, Comic Book Guy, but I press on.) But actors come back and do it again anyway, in hopes of saying a line well enough that some anonymous twit will feel compelled to employ it clumsily, years later, in the comments section of an actor’s blog.

    Your failure to appreciate the work that goes into being an actor says something else to me: my powers of memory have failed me again. Long ago my mother told me never to argue with a fool. I rue my forgetfulness, and now that I’ve recalled that advice, I’ll say goodbye, anonymous/Comic Book Guy/What You Will. Keep doing whatever it is you do when you’re not here. I hope your TV can stand it.

  5. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

