Anti-sociality

Going through a bit of an extended retreat phase, so my blogging has suffered, as has my interaction with the outside world.  These usually pass, but man I’m getting sick of them.

We start Othello next week and I hope to keep track of the process better here.  Frankly, I’m still terribly intimidated by the play.  Shakespeare has a way of spitting you out if you’re not careful.

On the bright side, my friends from Chicago, Tom & Tina were here for a visit.  I’m a nervous host, but they kept me calm and we did have a good time.

4 Responses to Anti-sociality

  1. peter says:

    Pfah. Fear not, my friend. Performing Shakespeare is acting at its most basic. Know the specific meaning of the words you’re saying, and why you are saying it. What makes Shakespeare threatening is that it becomes glaringly obvious when you “cheat” – i.e., just saying the lines “like they’re important,” without knowing the meaning (and not just the gist, of course, but the details). I have no worries about you: someone who is dedicated and curious enough to learn about the changing metal content of pennies will have the dedication and curiosity to translate the details of Shakespeare’s writing.

  2. peter says:

    Pfah. Fear not, my friend. Performing Shakespeare is acting at its most basic. Know the specific meaning of the words you’re saying, and why you are saying it. What makes Shakespeare threatening is that it becomes glaringly obvious when you “cheat” – i.e., just saying the lines “like they’re important,” without knowing the meaning (and not just the gist, of course, but the details). I have no worries about you: someone who is dedicated and curious enough to learn about the changing metal content of pennies will have the dedication and curiosity to translate the details of Shakespeare’s writing. Wish I was there with you guys for the fun.

  3. Emily says:

    lol I second Peter on that. You’ll be wonderful!! :o)

  4. Leigh says:

    As long as you’re not Desdemona (who, to this day, cracks me up with her, “Nobody. I myself,” line — are you guys smothering her or are you going for realism?), you should be fine! May I recommend Signet Classics for the English? They do a pretty good job….

