Trying to keep up

No, haven’t blogged in forever.  It has been difficult to do so.  A combination of a slow computer a busy schedule and a messy mind.  I have felt a bit unable to keep up with the world lately, and it keeps me from wanting to write.  Hope to shake it.

But theater has been kind.

Performing in Othello has been a bigger joy than I ever could have expected.  The prospect of doing Shakespeare again frankly scared the crap out of me.  Learned a great deal from my first Shakespeare experience, and it helped me here.  Tried to concentrate on keeping the intentions simple, and the text as clear as possible.  I think we all have acheived that.  The production is something to be proud of (yes, dangled that preposition).  The chance to make some art is really a privilege. 

Also, Got to see friend Carl Randolph take a wonderful turn in “A Prayer for Owen Meany” at Roundhouse in Bethesda, MD.  I loved this show. It had so much to say about the dangers of following faith, or anything, blindly.  The production used all the stage-trickery at its disposal, but only in service to the text.  I am usually not quick with a standing ovation, but I stood.  If it were at all possible, I would see it again.

4 Responses to Trying to keep up

  1. Merida says:

    Hard to believe that “messy mind” and Othello go together. It takes a great deal of mental ordiliness to pull off Shakespeare. Also, good to have your writing back on line. I wish I could have seen Owen Meany. Loved the book. Can’t imagine it as a stage production in all the complexity of the story. Keep writing – it is fascinating to read of the life on the stage.

  2. bitterspice says:

    Good to hear from you again.

  3. Carl says:

    Hey Larry, Been rather blogsent myself as of late. Thanks for the nice words about Oweny Meany. I have to say it was a great honor to have been a part of that show.

    Hope to see you sometime in ’07!
    Hugs,
    Carl

  4. Emily says:

    Larry,

    I completely meant to tell you that your monologue at the end was amazing. It went from high energy to you and in less than two or three minutes, I was in tears. It was really beautiful. I just wanted to let you know 🙂

    -Em

