Why I’m Filthy Rich


[photo: Foto71]

I accidentally realized today that I am filthy rich.

  • I earn more than I spend – Well, mostly. My paychecks are small, but I make them work. I’ve learned to track my money really well so I know exactly what I need every month. There’s not a lot of wiggle room (I’m carrying a few hundred in debt and I still could be much better about saving), but I’m rarely caught off guard financially. That gives me security.
  • Simple things make me happy – This one is huge. I grew up with not much, so I don’t need much to feel fulfilled. When you expect luxury, a lack of it feels like poverty. When you can enjoy living simply, luxuries become a treat. Enough food, a roof overhead, good health, morning coffee, a great conversation, an otherworldly Virginia sunset, an occasional new toy. All sources of joy. That gives me prosperity.
  • I love what I do – My passion is to perform, and thanks to so many people who believe in my talent (often more than I do) I have been able to spend most of my time doing what I love as an actor and musician. That makes me want to get up.
  • I am still learning – There is so much in the world that I know I don’t understand, and that allows me to listen and learn and keep curious. That gives me a huge world to explore.
  • I am loved – Most importantly this. There are people out there (one in particular), who know all of my faults and love me anyway. That gives me a home wherever I am.

Sorry to be all Oprah, but I’m just in a random grateful mood today. I know I ain’t perfect and life ain’t perfect (and my grammar ain’t perfect). My goal is just to be more deserving of the good things in life.

My hope for you is that you can find and appreciate your own filthy richness. You might be surprised.

4 Responses to Why I’m Filthy Rich

  1. Peter says:

    Heck, I love ya, and I don’t even know all your faults! (You have faults? Impossible! Oh, wait . . . you’re too nice . . . and you’re excessive talents make me envious, and that’s not nice . . . okay, maybe you’re not too nice at all!)

  2. The sentiments you express here are thoroughly unAmerican. After all, we must covet others’ belongings and spend beyond our means to keep our economy going.

    Sorry for the sardonic outburst. I could not help myself.

    ~ Chuck

  3. Tom M. says:

    “Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen pounds, nineteen and six, result happiness. Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure twenty pounds ought and six, result misery.” Charles Dickens, David Copperfield (1850)

    Larry – you understand what 99.44% of Americans don’t have a clue about.

    Contentment.

    T.
    a/k/a Frugal Zealot

  4. one in particular says:

    Thank you for reminding me to look into my own “vault of riches”. I am grateful that you have shared your’s with me, and for the interest you show in my own.

    You have common sence, and you know how to use it… :)~

    OIP

