Love While You Have

Yesterday I had a rather extraordinary and unexpectedly emotional experience learning a scene from A Christmas Carol.

I’m playing Bob Cratchit, and I was working on the scene where Scrooge visits the Cratchit house in Christmas future.  In this scene we learn that Tiny Tim has died.

In our version, the scene itself is relatively short, but extremely potent.  Bob returns home after visiting Tiny Tim’s gravesite, but puts on a brave face.  You eventually get to see his grief, but even in this he expresses his appreciation for the rest of his family.

It wiped me out.  It made me think about people that I’ve lost in my own life.  The power of it caught me off guard.  I started crying.  It’s the next day and I’m still feeling it.

I am anxious to get to the stage and tell this part of the story: that you don’t have to forget your losses, but you should always appreciate what you love while you have it.

2 Responses to Love While You Have

  1. Tom M. says:

    “that you don’t have to forget your losses, but you should always appreciate what you love while you have it.”

    and – that you can never know how long you will have the opportunity.

  2. Matt Baldoni says:

    Larry- I was sitting just upstage of you the whole scene as we rehearsed it.(Several times)

    Just wanted to say- My own eyes got more than misty more than once, and some of the story-telling girls around me were just plain weeping. Very powerful stuff good Sir.

    Also; I didn’t know that you had a blog! How wonderful to discover…I’ve found out yours, Warners’, and Steve’s at this point.

    Happy Ferret Dance!

