Please Take Them With You When You Go

CNN – Bush reflects on legacy: ‘I’m leaving with the same set of values’

Reflecting on his eight-year presidency, President Bush said above all he would like to be remembered as a commander-in-chief who remained faithful to his values and “did not sell his soul in order to accommodate the political process.”

In an interview with his younger sister, Doro Bush Koch, the president said he was forced to make several difficult choices during his tenure in the White House, but added “I darn sure wasn’t going to sacrifice [my] values.”

2 Responses to Please Take Them With You When You Go

  1. Jim Snowden says:

    “I darn sure wasn’t going to sacrifice [my] values.”

    A pity. Billions around the globe would be smiling more today if he had.

  2. David Maga says:

    So, he darn sure wasn’t going to change his mind, even when faced with new and previously unavailable information? I understand that this type of thinking is 100% in line with the way religion works, but seriously, why is this considered laudable?

