End of the Work Day

Well, I did it.  Spent the day writing as I hoped I would.

First, a little bit of detail.  I’m working on adapting a children’s book for the stage.  I’ve been thinking about doing this since December of 2006 and am now, along with a collaborator, trying to get this into high gear.  This is completely new territory for me, and I’m not exactly a natural.

So I designated today as a writing day, free of distractions (except for a break for lunch and dinner to watch the Obama Press Conference).

What I was hoping for was a brain dump.  Slamming  a huge chunk of words down on paper just to get a feel for the whole.

Not exactly what happened.

I ended being a lot more surgical.  Obsessing on individual lines and words and getting stuck for hours on a single scene.  I’m a little concerned that if I keep up this pace I’ll never finish.

But at the start of the day, this was 10 pages long.  Now it’s 20.  I learned a lot about the focus I need to work and the pace I would like to achieve.

It’s progress, and I’m looking forward to keeping it going.

[photo by Irish TypePad]
2 Responses to End of the Work Day

  1. Leigh says:

    Well, if it makes you feel any better, George Lucas could also only get 10 pages a day done.

