Oh Oh Vaio

system-missing

My Vaio is beginning its long, slow goodbye.

Last week I noticed that my RAM was half of what it should be.  I hoped it might be a faulty chip.

It is not a faulty chip.

After a little chip swapping (not as dirty as it sounds) it’s clear that both chips are fine.  One of the slots isn’t working.  If I’m not mistaken, that’s basically a problem with the motherboard.

So, like it or not, it is time to go looking for a new laptop.

Here’s where I need Samuel L. Jackson to scream something about a “mother******’ board”.

But I don’t think he will.

[photo by trillich]
2 Responses to Oh Oh Vaio

  1. Tom M says:

    a new laptop? so … which MacBook will you be getting?

    http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/

    T.

  2. Ron Dahlke says:

    Personally I prefer Gateway. Check out this one. Lots of bang for the buck.

    http://biz.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4090488&CatId=2511

    Gateway P-6860 FX Refurbished Notebook PC – Intel Core 2 Duo T5550 1.83GHz, Bluetooth, 802.11n, 4GB DDR2, 320GB HDD, DL DVDRW, 17″, HDMI, eSATA, Webcam, Windows Vista Home Premium (Copper Core Accent)

