Cotton Patch – Rehearsals Start Today

Today we have our first music rehearsal for Cotton Patch Gospel and I’m as giddy as a schoolgirl (although it bears noting that I have never seen any student, male or female, actually “giddy” about going to school.  Mostly the expression is that of sullen disinterest.)

But I digress.

I’ve spent the last week studying the lead sheets and listening to the archive recording of our 2003 production to learn the music solidly before we get into it.  We only have two weeks of rehearsal so I really want to be ready.

My reaction to listening to the old recording is somewhat mixed.  I enjoy listening to it for a number of reasons – I love the music, I have wonderful memories from that production and it is a document of my first show at Wayside.  On the flip side, listening to an old production is like looking at old photos.  You kind of wish you had done something different with your hair.

For that reason, I really look forward to revisiting this show.

So here we go.

Comments are closed.