Old Media

I was going through my old albums, VHS tapes and cassettes yesterday.

It’s amazing how old all of that stuff feels.  Especially since I don’t have a turntable or cassette player anymore.  And although I do have a VCR, I really don’t feel like pulling it out.

Part of me wants to convert it all to digital.  My friend R. Scott did that with a good chunk of his extensive record collection.  Kudos to him.  I just don’t think I would ever take the time.

Still, there are some things that I don’t want to get rid of, even if I don’t intend to listen to it or watch it anymore.

The Herb Alpert album Goin’ Places from 1960-something that had the song Zorba the Greek on it.  There was a section at the end that kept getting faster and faster.  We would spin around faster and faster until we couldn’t walk straight.  Gotta save that.

The oldest cassette I have is from 1975.  Me and my brother and sister were on vacation with our dad and he had just gotten a tape recorder.  One side of the cassette is us doing goofy tape recorder stuff.  On the other side, though, dad hit record without us knowing it and documented us being kids.  It was so strange to hear us all being so young.  I don’t want to get rid of it.

Or the Massed Band Concert in 1980 Where I played a clarinet solo in front of a whole gymnasium full of people.  It went well, but all I could think about was that one note that squeaked a little.  But it got applause anyway.  I can’t get rid of that.

Or playing Juan Peron in Evita at Attic Theatre in Appleton, Wisconsin in1992.  Eva was actually a little taller than me.  I referred to myself as “Little Juan”.  That video’s a keeper.

So, I’ll tuck those things in a box, until that time when I wonder what’s in that box.  A few rips of tape later I’ll see all that stuff and wonder why the heck I kept all that old media.

And then all the memories will come back and I’ll remember why.

One Response to Old Media

  1. […] Dance Party comes from my post yesterday about how my siblings and I used to dance to Zorba The Greek on Herb Alpert’s Goin’ […]

